Lake Garda & Malcesine

Stickl Sports Camp

Lake Garda, Italy's largest inland lake with breathtaking scenery, Mediterranean climate and unique sports opportunities is one of the most popular destinations for Germans. Rightly so, as you will see!

Lake Garda

Italy's largest inland body of water, Lago di Garda, has been one of the Germans' favourite holiday destinations for decades. The Mediterranean climate, the proximity to Germany and a unique cocktail of breathtakingly beautiful scenery, culture galore, good cuisine and sporting opportunities that are probably unique in Europe are certainly the reasons why hundreds of thousands of tourists flock to the lake every year.

Some data:

Lake Garda has a total surface area of 369.98 sq km. The length is 51.6 km, the width 17.2 km. The total circumference of the lake measures 158.4 km. The deepest point is 346 meters below sea level.

The northern part of Lake Garda with Riva and Torbole belongs to the province of Trento and is called Garda-Trentino. The eastern shore of Lake Garda from Malcesine to Peschiera has the beautiful name 'Olive Riviera' and belongs to the province of Verona. The southern and western shore from Sirmione to Limone is administered by the province of Brescia.

Due to its geographical location, the climate is mild. From December to February, the water temperature varies from 6-10 degrees and the air temperature from 5-15 degrees. During the spring months of March to May, the water temperature rises to 9-18 degrees and the air to 15-24 degrees. An optimal situation can be found from June to August with temperatures of 18-26 degrees for the water and 23-32 degrees for the air. September is also pleasant with 22-20 degrees water temperature and 28-25 degrees air temperature. These values drop in October to 20-16 degrees and the air from 22-18 degrees, so also still values that are ideal for biking and sailing! 

Where is Lake Garda? More on GOOGLE MAPS

Gardasee-Panorma von Malcesine nach Torbole
Der Gardasee aus der Vogelperspektive von Nord nach Süd

Lake Garda Sports Arena:

For 40 years surfing has been one of the main sports and tourism in Torbole lives almost exclusively from the funboard surfers who make a pilgrimage to the lake, especially every weekend from Tyrol and Bavaria.

Sailing, on the other hand, has been a tradition for 50 years, with countless sailing regattas, even at international level with world championships.

The conditions are just perfect and so regatta aces from many countries train here in the northern part of the lake often also in the winter months. 

For many years, Lake Garda and its surrounding mountains have been the top spot also for bikers and the biggest biker meeting in Central Europe therefore takes place in this bike mecca.

Paragliders love Monte Baldo and the flight from the summit with landing on the lakeshore is one of the goals of every paraglider pilot.

The climbing paradise Arco awaits its visitors with countless routes and at the Rock Masters Worldcup the climbing aces meet.

Many tennis hotels and facilities attract tournament players to Lago as early as the beginning of April to prepare for the tournament season, and golfers are now enjoying 5 excellent golf courses.

Lake Garda can call itself a real Dorado for sportsmen and is certainly unique in Europe in its overall offer and quality!

Stickl Sports Camp

With its landmark 12th century Scaliger Castle, Malcesine is one of the most visited places on Lake Garda. When the wind is not blowing, a visit to this picturesque town is an absolute must!

Malcesine, holiday paradise on the northern shores of Lake Garda

Malcesine is located on the eastern shore of Lake Garda 15 km from the north end and the towns of Torbole and Riva. The landmark of the town is the Scaligerburg from the 12th century.
From there you have a beautiful view of the lake and the medieval village.

Some Points of interest:
At the Castello you can see the Museum Pariani with archaeological finds, weapons and a section on the history of ship transport from Venice to Lake Garda.
In 1438 the Venetians defeated the Visconti at Torbole, with ships transported first through the Adige River and then through the Loppi Pass.
In the picturesque medieval centre of Malcesine you can visit the Palazzo dei Capitani del Lago which is today the town hall, the church of Santa Maria della Fontana, the Church of Santo Stefano and the Parish church.

In Cassone there is the shortest river in Italy and perhaps the whole world. It is the Aril, which is 14 meters wide at the source, 7 meters wide at the mouth and only 138 meters long.

Panoramablick von Malceisne nach Torbole
Uferpromenade von Val di Sogno nach Malcesine

From Malcesine you can also reach the Monte Baldo a ski resort and natural park with rare flowers and plants; the cable car goes up to Tratto Spino (1,780 metres high) and with a nice walk you can reach the top from here.

The old town is worth a visit. Many small shops and pubs invite the holidaymaker to stroll around. Some piazzas like the Piazza del Albero or the port are popular meeting places.

In the summer of 2002 the new cable car to Monte Baldo was opened, which is also open in winter and leads to some ski lifts on the summit. There are several small pubs in the centre of the village. After a short walk along the lakeside promenade you reach the hamlet of Val di Sogno and the bay of the same name, where the Stickl Sportcamp has been based since 1976.

Tourist Office:
- via Capitanato 6, Tel. 045-7400044 Fax 7401633

Events:
- May to September: Concerts in the Scaliger Castle
- June: Fish Festival - July: Patron Saint Festival with fireworks
- August: Cyclamen festival in Cassone

Stickl Sports Camp

Val di Sogno-the "dream bay" for water sports and holidays. Location of the sports camp with perfect conditions for surfers and sailors, beginners, families and experts. Why this is so you can find out here!

Lake Garda is considered by experts to be one of the most wind-safe areas in Europe.

With a length of 50 kilometres, of which about 20 kilometres are framed by mountains in the northern part, and a flat southern part, it offers completely different wind conditions. The northern part is windy and cooler, while the wider southern part is in complete calm in high summer. Important to know when planning your holiday!

But even the 20 kilometres from Torbole in the north to Garda, where the lake widens, offer completely different wind systems and wind strengths depending on the time of day and the weather conditions.

In principle, it can be said that at night, when there is high pressure, the VENTO sets in, the mountain wind from the north that increases in strength on its way south and blows most strongly off Malcesine, but it does not reach the bays of the lake. Not even in the bay of Val di Sogno, which lies like a quiet natural harbour in the lee of the hills. The morning hours from 6 o'clock belong to the surfers, kiters and hobie cracks who can enjoy wind forces between 4 and 7 Beaufort outside the bay.

As soon as the sun has warmed the mountain slopes in the north, the Vento goes to sleep and after a short break the southern thermal, the ORA, sets in. This wind also only prevails in the narrow northern part of the lake. It begins in Torri del Benaco as a lukewarm breeze and increases on its way north through the channeling effect of the narrowing valley to wind force 5-6 in Torbole.

Kites am Gardasee
Bucht am Gardasee

The bay Val di Sogno then offers ideal medium winds with three to four Beaufort for sailors, cat sailors and slightly advanced surfers.

  • Val di Sogno is perhaps the best spot on Lake Garda for beginners because it offers far more hours of ideal wind than any other.
  • Val di Sogno is also the optimal area of the lake for sailors on dinghies and Hobie Cats and kitesurfers with wind areas that offer something for everyone.
  • Only real funboardsurfers looking for wind forces 5 and more will find better conditions in Torbole.
  • for all other recreational water sports enthusiasts, the Malcesine area and the Val di Sogno bay are the best choice!
en_GB

Gardasee & Malcesine

Stickl Sportcamp

Der Gardasee, größter Binnensee Italiens mit atemberaubender Kulisse, mediterranem Klima und einmaligen Sportmöglichkeiten ist eines der beliebtesten Reiseziele der Deutschen. Zu Recht wie Sie sehen werden!

Gardasee

Das größte italienische Binnengewässer, der Lago di Garda, ist seit Jahrzehnten eines der beliebtesten Urlaubsziele der Deutschen. Mittelmeerklima, die Nähe zu Deutschland und ein einmaliger Cocktail aus atemberaubend schöner Landschaft, Kultur in Hülle und Fülle, guter Küche und in Europa wohl einmaligen Sportmöglichkeiten sind sicher die Gründe dafür, warum jedes Jahr wieder hunderttausende Touristen an den Lago strömen.

Einige Daten:

Der Gardasee hat eine Gesamtoberfläche von 369,98 qkm. Die Länge beträgt 51,6 km, die Breite 17,2 km. Der Gesamtumfang des Sees misst 158,4 km. Der tiefste Punkt befindet sich 346 Meter unter dem Meeresspiegel.

Der nördliche Teil des Gardasees mit Riva und Torbole gehört zur Provinz Trient und nennt sich Garda-Trentino. Das östliche Gardaseeufer von Malcesine bis Peschiera hat den schönen Namen ‘Olivenriviera’ und gehört zur Provinz Verona. Das südliche und westliche Ufer von Sirmione bis Limone wird von der Provinz Brescia verwaltet.

Aufgrund seiner geografischen Lage herrscht ein mildes Klima. Von Dezember bis Februar variiert die Wassertemperatur von 6-10 Grad und die Lufttemperatur von 5-15 Grad. Während der Frühjahrsmonate März bis Mai steigt die Wassertemperatur auf 9-18 Grad und die Luft auf 15-24 Grad. Eine optimale Situation findet man von Juni bis August mit Temperaturen von 18-26 Grad für das Wasser und 23-32 Grad für die Luft vor. Angenehm ist auch der September mit 22-20 Grad Wassertemperatur und 28-25 Grad Lufttemperatur. Diese Werte fallen im Oktober auf 20-16 Grad und die Luft von 22-18 Grad, also auch noch Werte, die zum Biken und Segeln ideal sind! 

Wo liegt der Gardasee? Mehr dazu auf GOOGLE MAPS

Gardasee-Panorma von Malcesine nach Torbole
Der Gardasee aus der Vogelperspektive von Nord nach Süd

Sportarena Gardasee:

Seit 40 Jahren ist Surfen eine der Hauptsportarten und der Tourismus in Torbole lebt fast ausschließlich von den Funboardsurfern die vor allem jedes Wochenende aus Tirol und Bayern an den Lago pilgern.

Segeln ist dagegen schon seit 50 Jahren eine Tradition, die mit unzähligen Segelregatten auch auf internationalem Niveau mit Weltmeisterschaften gepflegt wird.

Die Bedingungen sind einfach perfekt und so trainieren hier im Nordteil des Sees Regatta Asse aus vielen Ländern oft auch in den Wintermonaten. 

Seit vielen Jahren ist der Gardasee und seine umliegenden Berge der Topspot auch für Biker und das größte Bikermeeting Mittteleuropas findet deshalb in diesem Bike-Mekka statt.

Gleitschirmflieger lieben den Monte Baldo und der Flug vom Gipfel mit Landung am Seeufer gehört zum Ziel jedes Gleitschirmpiloten.

Das Kletterparadies Arco wartet mit unzähligen Routen auf seine Besucher und beim Rock Masters Worldcup treffen sich die Kletter-Asse.

Viele Tennishotels und Anlagen locken Turnierspieler schon Anfang April an den Lago um sich auf die Turniersaison vorzubereiten und die Golfer freuen sich mittlerweile über 5 hervorragende Golfcourts.

Der Gardasee darf sich als echtes Dorado für Sportler bezeichnen und ist sicher in seinem Gesamtangebot und Qualität einmalig in Europa!

Stickl Sportcamp

Mit seinem Wahrzeichen der Skaligerburg aus dem 12. Jahrhundert ist Malcesine einer der meistbesuchten Orte am Gardasee. Wenn der Wind mal nicht bläst, ist eine Besichtigung dieses malerischen Ortes absolutes Pflichtprogramm!

Malcesine, Urlaubsparadies am nördlichen Gardasee

Malcesine liegt am Ostufer des Gardasees 15 km vom Nordende und den Orten Torbole und Riva entfernt. Das Wahrzeichen des Ortes ist die Scaligerburg aus dem 12. Jahrhundert.
Von dort hat man eine wunderschöne Aussicht auf den See und auf das mittelalterliche Dorf.

Einige Sehenswürdigkeiten:
Im Castello kann man das Museum Pariani besuchen, mit archäologischen Funden, Waffen und einem Teil über die Geschichte der Schiffbeförderung von Venedig zum Gardasee.
1438 schlugen die Venezianer in Torbole die Visconti, mit Schiffen, die erst durch den Fluß Adige und dann durch den Loppiopaß transportiert wurden.
Im malerischen mittelalterlichen Zentrum von Malcesine kann man den Palazzo dei Capitani del Lago sehen, der heute das Rathaus ist, die Kirche von Santa Maria della Fontana, die Kirche von Santo Stefano und die Pfarrkirche.

In Cassone gibt es den kürzesten Fluß Italiens und vielleicht der ganzen Welt. Es ist der Aril, der 14 Meter breit an der Quelle, 7 Meter breit an der Mündung und nur 138 Meter lang ist.

Panoramablick von Malceisne nach Torbole
Uferpromenade von Val di Sogno nach Malcesine

Von Malcesine aus kann man auch den Monte Baldo erreichen, ein Skiort und Naturpark mit seltenen Blumen und Pflanzen; die Seilbahn führt bis zum Tratto Spino (1.780 Meter hoch) und mit einem schönen Spaziergang kann man von hier aus die Spitze erreichen.

Die Altstadt ist einen Besuch wert. Viele kleine Geschäfte und Lokale laden den Urlauber zum Bummeln ein. Einige Piazzas wie die Piazza del Albero oder der Hafen sind beliebte Treffpunkte.

Im Sommer 2002 wurde die neue Seilbahn auf den Monte Baldo eröffnet, die auch im Winter geöffnet ist und zu einigen Skiliften auf dem Gipfel führt. Es gibt mehrere kleine Pubs im Ortszentrum. Nach einem kleinen Spaziergang auf der Uferpromenade erreicht man den Ortsteil Val di Sogno und die gleichnamige Bucht, wo das Stickl Sportcamp seit 1976 seinen Sitz hat.

Fremdenverkehrsamt:
– via Capitanato 6, Tel. 045-7400044 Fax 7401633

Veranstaltungen:
– Mai bis September: Konzerte im Scaligerschloß
– Juni: Fischfest – Juli: Patronfest mit Feuerwerk
– August: Zyklamenfest in Cassone

Stickl Sportcamp

Val di Sogno-die "Traumbucht" für Wassersport und Urlaub. Standort des Sportcamps mit perfekten Bedingungen für Surfer und Segler, Einsteiger, Familien und Experten. Warum das so ist erfahren sie hier!

Der Gardasee gilt in Fachkreisen als eines der windsichersten Reviere in Europa

Mit einer Länge von 50 Kilometern, davon auf circa 20 Kilometern im Nordteil von Bergen umrahmt, und einem flachen Südteil, bietet er völlig unterschiedliche Windverhältnisse. Der Nordteil ist windig und kühler, während der breitere Südteil im Hochsommer in völliger Flaute liegt. Wichtig zu wissen bei der Urlaubsplanung!

Aber selbst die 20 Kilometer von Torbole im Norden nach Garda, wo der See sich weitet, bieten je nach Tageszeit und Wetterlage völlig unterschiedliche Windsysteme und Windstärken.

Prinzipiell kann man festhalten, dass bei Hochdrucklage nachts der VENTO einsetzt, der Bergwind aus Norden, der auf seinem Weg nach Süden an Stärke zunimmt und vor Malcesine am stärksten bläst, wobei er aber nicht in die Buchten des Sees kommt. Also auch nicht in die Bucht Val di Sogno, die wie ein ruhiger natürlicher Hafen im Windschatten der Hügel liegt. Die Morgenstunden ab 6 Uhr gehören den Surfern, Kitern und Hobiecracks die außerhalb der Bucht Windstärken zwischen 4 und 7 Beaufort genießen können.

Sobald die Sonne die Berghänge im Norden erwärmt hat, schläft der Vento ein und nach einer kurzen Pause setzt die Südthermik, die ORA, ein. Auch dieser Wind herrscht nur im schmalen Nordteil des Sees vor. Er beginnt in Torri del Benaco als laues Lüftchen und steigert sich auf seinem Weg nach Norden durch die kanalisierende Wirkung des enger werdenden Tales auf Windstärke 5-6 in Torbole.

Kites am Gardasee
Bucht am Gardasee

Die Bucht Val di Sogno bietet dann ideale mittlere Winde mit drei bis vier Beaufort für Segler, Catsegler und leicht fortgeschrittene Surfer

  • Val di Sogno ist für Einsteiger vielleicht der beste Spot am Gardasee, weil er weit mehr Stunden idealen Wind bietet als jeder andere.
  • Val di Sogno ist auch der optimale Bereich des Sees für Segler auf Jollen und Hobie Cats und Kitesurfer mit Windbereichen, die jedem etwas bieten.
  • Nur echte Funboardsurfer die Windstärken 5 und mehr suchen, finden in Torbole bessere Bedingungen.
  • für alle anderen Freizeit-Wassersportler sind der Bereich Malcesine und die Bucht Val di Sogno die beste Wahl!
de_DE